"Bo Knows"
by domer4 (2019-01-10 10:32:43)
Edited on 2019-01-10 10:41:42

In reply to: Eleven awards but NO NC? How would you introduce a guy like  posted by Dillon76

Actually, the last few awards BK has won were not in existence when Bo coached - 1969 to 1989.

So I think Schembechler has him in terms of numbers if the awards were in existence by 1989.

Interestingly, in none of these award years did Schembechler capture one of his two Rose Bowl victories. Also he never got an award in his only unbeated, untied regular season - 1971.

American Football Coaches Association. (Award Established in 1935. Originally a poll of coaches conducted by the Scripps-Howard Newspapers)
1969 Bo Schembechler

Columbus Touchdown Club
1985 Bo Schembechler

Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year, Football Writers Association of America. (Est. 1957. Named after Robinson since approximately 1997)
1969 Bo Schembechler

Sporting News
1985 Bo Schembechler

Walter Camp Coach of the Year
1969 Bo Schembechler

Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year
1977 Bo Schembechler

George Munger/Maxwell Award
1989 Bo Schembechler