Profile for PHLSPHR Click here to make or adjust profile

Height:  5' 10 Weight:  185 lbs. Alumni Status:  Ph.D. 1990 (I was at ND as a grad student through
Location:  North Canton, Ohio Favorite Baseball Team:  I've lost interest in professional baseball.
Natural Enemies:  Buckeyes--can't stand 'em.

Athletic Ability: I'm an avid rock climber and backpacker. I keep in pretty good shape. I have no natural football ability whatsoever, although I do play hard in our annual Thanksgiving day family football game.

Sartorial Style: Typically jeans and a t-shirt. On dressy days, khaki pants and polo shirt.

Favorite Beverage and Consumption Freq: Coffee (3-4 cups/day) and Dr. Pepper (1 or 2/day). An occasional Bass Ale.

Political Philosophy: I'm pretty moderate, which means my views are never represented by actual politicians who end up forced to cater to the extremes.

Religious Philosophy: I think there are right answers to religious questions. I also think that they are very hard questions and the intelligent reasonable people come to different conclusions.

Musical Favorites: All over the map. On my iPod you'll find folk, jazz, blues, classical, pop, and even some hip-hop. Some favorites include Dylan, Paul Simon, Bruce Cockburn, John Gorka, Jack Johnson, Dar Williams, Alison Krause, Bangles, Barenaked Ladies, and Traveling Wilburys.

Favorite Quote from an ND Coach: “One man practicing sportsmanship is better than a hundred teaching it.” (Knute Rockne)

Miscellaneous Data: I'm a philosophy professor at Mount Union in Alliance Ohio. I love my job (except for the grading).