Profile for TF86 Click here to make or adjust profile

Height:  6'1 Weight:  Too many lbs. Alumni Status:  B.A., Gov't & Intl. Studies, 1986; Stanford Hall
Location:  Rochester, NY Favorite Baseball Team:  New York Yankees (NL baseball bores me)
Natural Enemies:  Various and sundry.

Athletic Ability: I had more of it when I was younger than I do now, not that that sets the bar terribly high. I was a member of a championship interhall football team (Stanford in 1984) and amazingly, my Bookstore Basketball team, put together in about five minutes or so, reached the Final 64 one year. Was voted Team Man on my high school football team.

More heart than ability, even in my prime, to be sure. But considering the issues I had (and have) with both depth perception and peripheral vision, I probably overachieved.

These days, it's mostly limited to walking the dog and picking up her poop (I've often wondered that if a space alien were to observe that, would he reach a different conclusion as to which life form has the superior intellect? But that's the law.)

Sartorial Style: My wife buys my clothes. Trust me, that's a good thing.

Favorite Beverage and Consumption Freq: Vanilla Coke Zero, probably more of it than is healthy.

Political Philosophy: FDR/RFK Democrat. In local elections, however, I vote for the best candidate. Party identity and philosophy becomes much more important at the state and national level. Note that Trump has caused me to rethink this latter point, as I'm currently having a hard time seeing my way clear to voting for anyone who would share a party label with him. Meanwhile, in the Democratic Party, Eisenhower Republicans/Clinton Democrats are currently ascendant, and FDR/RFK Democrats like myself have been shunted to the side. So increasingly more and more, I feel like a man without a country on this front.

Religious Philosophy: Cafeteria-style, semi-lapsed Catholic. I have significant differences of opinion with the Catholic Church which likely will never go away completely and which prohibit me from embracing the faith in the manner I did when I was younger. At the same time, however, I have no reason to believe that there is any other religion out there which is a better fit for me, and I know for a fact there are a number of other religions which are a much worse fit for me. Now that I have become a parent, I have made more of an effort to reconnect with the faith for the sake of my children.

Musical Favorites: Yes, Genesis, Rush, Van Halen, and most of what you'll find on your local classic rock radio station. My knowledge of popular music ended around 1993 or so, except for the modern crap my kids expose me to now.

Favorite Quote from an ND Coach:

Miscellaneous Data: At this advanced age, I'm still going to school. I recently completed a M.S. in Education, with a concentration in Sport Administration, from Canisius College in preparation for a career change to hopefully work in college athletics (thanks, COVID-19, for putting the brakes on that, hopefully only temporarily.) Currently pursuing a M.A. in History. I've attended four other schools since ND, none of them a direct competitor to ND (i.e., no schools with Division I FBS football, at least not at the time.)

I love to travel. If travel were free, nobody with a reason to look for me would see me on anything approaching a regular basis.