The Big Win Tournament — And Then There Were Two

Thirty-seven wins entered the dome back in April. Those wins represented the biggest Notre Dame men’s basketball program had achieved in the sport’s modern era.

When I seeded the wins originally, I kinda figured two of them would stand above the rest. Your votes have confirmed my position, and today we will select between those two a tournament winner, and determine the second contender for the best men’s hoops win in Fighting Irish history.

Round Two Review

Game 33

[crowdsignal poll=10551782]

The UCLA win jumped out to an early lead on Wednesday morning, and for a moment I was concerned I hadn’t been clear enough that this wasn’t the 1974 version. The Final Four win came back, though, and won by a nose at the wire.

Game 34

[crowdsignal poll=10551784]

This one, on the other hand, was a blowout from the get-go. Frankly, I was surprised this one wasn’t closer, but I can understand why a post-season championship would carry the weight it does.

Select Your Champion

#3 Seed: #11 Notre Dame 90, #19 North Carolina 82

March 14, 2015 — ACC Conference Tournament Championship, Greensboro, NC

What Happened: A 26-3 run in the second half erased a nine-point deficit and the Fighting Irish had their first conference and post-season championship ever. Jerian Grant and Pat Connaughton combined for 44 points, and freshman Demetrius Jackson made his presence felt with four assists and three steals.

#2 Seed: #6 Notre Dame 84, #7 DePaul 64

March 19, 1978 — NCAA Tournament Elite Eight, Lawrence, KS

What Happened: Two and a half months after the football team won the national title, Notre Dame blew out the Blue Demons to reach its first (and so far only) Final Four. Kelly Tripucka, Rich Branning, Duck Williams, and Bill Laimbeer all reached double-figures while shutting down the DePaul offense.

[crowdsignal poll=10552851]

We’ll go with a little extra time for this one, so the poll will close at 6pm EDT Monday, May 18th.